Me Made May and my inner peer pressure

Dear self It’s ok not to have made your wardrobe yourself. It’s ok to buy clothes in shops. Sure, you’ve knitted a lot of sweaters, shawls, hats, etc. but you don’t have to weave your own fabrics and sew your own clothes – you make a lot of other things! What about the print on the wall you made? Or the necklace? You made those! Be proud of things you’ve made or accomplished, even though it may not be your whole outfit.

May is a fantastic month and on social media a lot of the peope I follow celebrate Me Made May, a celebration of a home made wardrobe. I can sometimes feel the pressure to join in the choir, but the truth is that I’ve made the decision not to make my own clothes. I want to spend my time on other things and I’m happy to go shopping for my clothes. During MeMadeMay I sometimes have to remind myself that it is OK to wear store bought clothes. For some people it’s not a choice, they may not know how to sew, in my case it’s more of a choice life has made at the moment. I used to sew a bit, but the fact that my sewing machine and I live in different countries makes it harder. Sewing is fun, but I also have other interests that I’ve chosen to prioritise over sewing.

So this May I’m going to celebrate accomplishments in any way for Me Made May, it’s a sofa cushion I crocheted, it’s a nice casserole I spent time making from scratch, it’s the little stilllifes I’m creating around the house with my favourite things. I made those, and they count!

If you are into cooking, baking, drawing, jewellery making, sewing, macramé, wood turning, slack lining, free diving, photography, story telling; the list goes on; let’s rejoice and celebrate your interests and reaching new goals or learning new skills. You are great! That store bought t-shirt looks great on you! My contribution to Me Made May today is that I spread my toast with a wooden butter knife I’ve made.

If you’re one of the amazing people who make your whole outfit, then I’m super impressed! Let’s celebrate our achievements together!

 

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started